Thought Catalog

Flickr / Sophia LouiseFlickr / Sophia Louise

A few years before he wrote Freakonomics, Stephen Dubner wanted to follow me around. To shadow me so he can find out how depraved I was.

“I’m writing a book about the Psychology of Money. You’re going to be the first chapter.” He wanted to write about someone who made and lost millions and psychologically was a total wreck.

He came to my “house-colding” party. I was losing my house in NYC and about to move 80 miles north to the only place I could afford. A house 1/3 the size.

We were all depressed at the party. Well, my ex-wife said, this is it, as the elevator opened for the last time. My oldest daughter was crying. The house was empty. Stephen was writing in his notebook.

Then he came and visited me upstate a few weeks later in our broken down house at…

View original post 1,332 more words

